Reacties
DCUpro

Level 2
  • 3Posts
  • 1Oplossingen
  • 0Likes

Setting up Cisco rv215w to be main router behind Connectbox

Hi all,

Sorry if this is a bit dumb but I'm a bit of a novice at this and was wondering if someone could help me understand how this should be configured.

I need to setup a VPN connection and the Giga Connectbox doesn't support this. I have a Cisco rv215w that I would like to use as my main router so that I can accomplish this. 

I have put my Giga Connectbox in 'Modem Mode' i.e bridge mode and connected LAN 1 on the Connectbox to the WAN port on the Cisco router

However I'm unsure what my WAN settings should be on the Cisco router. Should they be the same as what the Connectbox was using or should they be just in the same subnet of the Connectbox i.e

IP Address: 192.168.178.100

Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0

Default Gateway: 192.168.178.1

My LAN on the Cisco router is: 192.168.2.1/24

Can anyone share with me some details of what way I should have configured the second router while the Connectbox is in Bridge mode?

Oplossingen

Geaccepteerde oplossingen
tobiastheebe

Level 20
T.E.A.M.
  • 31062Posts
  • 2180Oplossingen
  • 15500Likes

The WAN interface of your router must be set to DHCP (no VLAN/PPP). Your router will then receive a public IPv4 address directly from Ziggo's DHCP server. Ziggo does not (currently) offer an IPv6 PD subnet when using bridge mode.

The former assumes you're not using the 'Zakelijk Internet Pro' business subscription which uses static /29 subnets.

The CB's web interface is on 192.168.100.1 and should be reachable from within your 192.168.2.0/24 subnet, the 192.168.178.0/24 subnet no longer exists.

Bekijk in context

tobiastheebe

Level 20
T.E.A.M.
  • 31062Posts
  • 2180Oplossingen
  • 15500Likes

Perhaps one or two old leases are currently still active and preventing the router to request a lease. Only 2 or 3 leases can be active simultaneously. These leases are valid for 1 week.